Year in review 2015


It’s that time of year again. Another year is coming to an end. This year has been a good one, a fun one and hey, what do you know I even kept some of the resolutions I made in this post.

So here’s a quick review of what went down this year

  1. I quit Candy Crush – cold turkey. Sure, it took me the first 4 months of the year to do this but I’m over it. No more sneaking a game in, in the middle of the night, in my bed. It was hard work but it’s been a good thing. I have had more time to do things such as read and write.
  2. I did make a few friends, not as many as I’d hoped – the important thing is, they’re real life friends, people I meet for a cup of coffee or a drink. Some of these friendships do not involve the families. I’m friends with these women because we want to be friends with each other. Also, I made it a point to look up old friends on my trip to India, met a couple of them after close to a couple of decades. I even took a trip to Texas to meet one I hadn’t seen on 15 years. Friends wise this was a phenomenal year
  3. At the beginning of the year one of my resolutions was to volunteer more. I managed to volunteer a couple of times at the local Food Bank.
  4. Last, but not least, I have very recently started writing for an online Indian Parenting magazine. I’m a newbie, have just turned in my second article to Parentous.com. See if you can find me there.

Sure, some things were left undone. I did not learn a new language and I still use a lot of “I” in my posts. I’m working on cutting this down by writing more Flash Fiction so hopefully in the coming year, this resolution will come true.

The other thing I wanted to highlight by way of this post is the fantastic year DD’s had.

She got a distinction in her Hindustani vocal exams. She earned second place in the Classical Music Piano Festival organized by the State Music Teachers’ Association. She cleared her level III Piano exams. She made it to a Math and Science Magnet middle school. This means she’ll be in an accelerated math and science program starting next year. She started martial arts at the beginning of the year and now has a green belt and a mean roundhouse kick 🙂

However, her most important accomplishments this year haven’t been academic. This is what I am most proud of when it comes to DD. She volunteered at the local Food Bank twice with me. She led a sock drive for the local homeless shelter with her 5th grade classmates and collected over 300 pairs of socks to donate to the children in the center. Last but not least, DD’s class won a contest and earned $375 in gift cards to a local clothing store. The class decided, as a whole, to donate the whole amount to the aforementioned homeless shelter. Yours truly spent one Saturday morning shopping for clothes for the kids at the center. We donated them later that weekend. Thanks to DD and class, around 10 kids in the center will have brand new clothes for Christmas, some for the very first time.

Thanks to DD’s efforts and a little bit of my own we did have a very giving, kind year, the kind that has made me genuinely happy and content.

Other highlights during this year included a work trip to California that I thoroughly enjoyed, a trip with my entire family (mom, dad, brother, SIL and DD) to Delhi and Agra. I got a chance to introduce DD to people who have known my parents since they first married and have known me and my brother since birth. It felt great to have all uncles and aunties share with DD stories of our childhood. Seeing the Taj with my baby was something special. I also hauled back some old pictures from our house and it was the most valuable thing I carried back from my trip along with the memories.

I’m looking forward to wrapping this year up with one last vacation. We are going to be travelling to Puerto Rico with my cousin and family later this week. I’m excited to see my nieces and spending some quality time with my SIL.

This is one of those years where I’d like to continue all we did during this year into next year. I hope the next year is as full of laughter, kindness and love as this year has been.

I hope your year has been more good than bad and that the coming year bestows health, wealth, peace and joy on all of you

I will see you all next year. Happy Holidays and a Happy New Year to all!!

HNY 2016 images

 

 

2 thoughts on “Year in review 2015

Leave a Reply

