Year in review


As this year draws to a close, I am tempted, like always to look back and see how far we’ve come. I do this since I believe that the past has lessons to offer, memories to treasure, it even lets me look at people and relationships that are no longer a part of my life and sometimes, the hindsight and distance help me understand why those people and relationships are not with me anymore. I also use this as a way of offering up thanks to the Almighty for all I have and hold. I make New year resolutions too but those last but a few hours.

So here’s this year in review.

I am grateful that I spent a whole lot of time with family and friends this year. My parents visited for a whole 2 months and we had an opportunity to travel to Hawaii with my cousin and his family. We met my cousin again when he came to visit my parents.

DD moved to a new school this year. We’d put her in Kindergarden at a private school because she did not meet the age cutoff in the public school system. As a result for the last 5 years DD has been the youngest child in class. It was fine until she was in 2nd grade, however in the last 2 years, she’s been giving in to peer pressure a lot more easily and asking questions about things that she does not need to know until she’s in middle school. maybe. Being an only child was not doing her any favors either. So, we made the decision to have her repeat 4th grade and move her to the nearest public school.

I have changed a number of schools as a child since my dad used to keep getting transferred so I was a little apprehensive but the new school’s been great for DD. She’s made a bunch of new friends, has a lovely teacher and since she’s repeating  4th grade, she’s sailing through most of her work. She’s had more time to pay attention to her writing so her writing skills have improved phenomenally and she’s in an accelerated program for Math.

Speaking of DD, she turned 10 this year. For someone who was not sure I’d be able to raise a kid for 10 days, 10 years is a mighty big accomplishment. That, she’s grown into someone we can be proud of, inspite of us, is the icing on the cake 🙂

I got back to blogging this year and while I’m not writing as much as I’d like, it still makes me very very happy.

I think, I’ve spent less time fighting/arguing with DH and others. This may be because I made a conscious effort or because the people I’m arguing with are wiser than I am and have decided not to engage with me. Either way, it’s been a more peaceful year.

Now onto New Year resolutions

I’m hoping to make more friends. At my age, it sounds a little ridiculous. In the last few years, though, I think I have closed myself off from a lot of people.Making new friends was easier when we were kids. Now, in order to make friends I have to first see if they have kids DD’s age and if she’ll get along with them. Then, I have to see if the husbands will get along. If a person I want to make friends with does not meet these criteria then the friendship doesn’t happen. This year, though I’m going to go out and meet more people. If they have kids and husbands that get along with my family, great. If not, I’m going to maintain friendships with the person alone and not involve the family.

I’d love to learn a new language and I’m hoping I can pick up some conversational French. So DD and I have agreed to give French lessons a try. Part of this resolution’s motivated by what happened here. I am hoping to never have a repeat of that, again, in this lifetime.

I solemnly vow to spend less time playing Candy Crush. (I suspect this is the first resolution that will fall by the wayside).

I am going to try and use less of “I” in my posts. It is going to be a little difficult since the posts are being written by me about my thoughts and experiences. However, to see all those “I’s” peppering my posts is starting to annoy. So less of that this year.

This year will be a kinder, more giving year, too, I hope – as in we are kinder and spend more time giving of ourselves, our time and efforts to others, thereby setting an example for DD.

If I keep half of these resolutions for more than 30 days, I’ll call it a win So that’s it from me, folks.

Here’s wishing you all a wonderful, glorious, glamorous, healthy, wealthy, wise, kind, peaceful, joyous New Year.

18-happy-new-year-wallpaper.preview

 Photo credit: webneel.com

4 thoughts on “Year in review

  1. Hey Meera, wish you a wonderful new year and may God help you with your new year resolutions, especially about playing Candy Crush. I keep getting FB invites from addicts like you to play it. I am glad to say that I have not been tempted at all 😀

    Making DD repeat a year since she was underage is one of the wisest decisions. Another friend of mine did it too, here in India and is very happy she did. And about the making friends thing. I have never mixed friends and family if I could help it 🙂 The L&M is not someone who mixes easily with new people and the kids have their own ‘agenda’. Except for a few friends i have made who are mothers of my kids’ friends, the rest are all mine and I am so blessed to have them in my life. I don’t know if it is as easy in a foreign country to have separate friends, or is it?

    1. Happy New Year to you and yours Zephyr!!

      The candy crush resolution will be the first one to go, I fear but I plan on holding out valiantly against temptation.

      Having DD repeat 4th grade has let her relax, be a kid and get more out of the school experience is what I have learned. So I am glad I gave in to DH’s entreaties and did this.

      I’m not sure if being in a different country has something to do with it but making friends as I grow older is hard. Its probably because I am set in my ways, this is the resolution I am most interested in implementing. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

