Mubaarak ho, beti huyi hai (Congratulations, its a girl)


She stood on the podium, her fists pumping the air. TV reporters were calling her the hero of the nation, the daughter that made the country proud. All she could think of was her mother telling her how the family cried for 3 days on her birth when they were told “Congratulations, it’s a girl.”

2 things inspired this post. The ad for KBC’s new season which you can see hereΒ and the fact that my birth was heralded by a lot of tears and sadness since there were high expectations that a boy would be born.

12 thoughts on “Mubaarak ho, beti huyi hai (Congratulations, its a girl)

  1. The KBC ad is quite something isn’t it? It’s one of the few ads that made me sit up and take notice, and they the way they have combined the programme promo and a message is really superb.

    And need I say, your post is superb too πŸ™‚

    1. I have loved all the ads for the new KBC season but this one just tigs at the heartstrings…My post is just a humble means to shed light on an issue that should have us, as a nation, hang our heads in shame.

    1. Yes, Smita, and it is one I don’t understand. All of the girls in our family have done well for ourselves. We are independent, well educated very, very concerned and involved in the care of our parents. Yet to this day, my grandmother laments the fact that there are six granddaughters to 2 grandsons and that all of us grand daughters, with the exception of one, have daughters in turn. 😦

  2. Hmm I know this much when my sister was born , my dad gave a grand party and Nothing when i was born 😦 , I still miss all that food that would have been there

    and a couple of months back my cousin was blessed with his second daughter and , he rang me from the hospital saying , tonight we drink Darooooo and have fun , I better come with the first flight…

    Havenot seen the ad will see it now

  3. Nicely written Ms. M!!!

    The Ad is so real. I’m glad they did not use some popular actors in the ad, except for AB at the end. I hope the show is true to the ad and gives everyone (all economic statuses) equal chance to participate. Atleast they made an honest ad.

    Thanks Ms. M for pointing us to the Ad. I would have never watched it.

    I hope times change and every father feels the way @Bikram experienced. Sorry @Bikram nothing against boys not getting a party on their birth, men have way too many parties in our lifetime, so in the end it balances out. πŸ™‚

    More power to Girls!!!

    -Sik

    1. In the last 2 seasons, the people who won came from very very ordinary backgrounds. So, I’d like to believe that this time around, too someone deserving will win. People like Bikram’s father are the exceptions in India. I hope with the coming generations this will change.

      Amen, more power to girls!!!

Leave a Reply

